Monday, June 15, 2009

Quiz on women pros

Hey Racquetball Blog readers, we've got a little quiz for you listed in the right sidebar. It's developed out of our research into past results from the women's pro tour, which has been called various things over the years - WIRT, LPRA, WPRO, etc.

We've done a count of tournament winners, and we're asking you to try to identify which the five players listed - Heather McKay, Jackie Paraiso, Rhonda Rajsich, Christie Van Hees, and Shannon Wright - won the most pro tournaments.

McKay and Wright are players from the 70s and early 80s. McKay was an Australian living in Canada, who had considerable success playing squash, and switched over to racquetball because it was more lucrative. Wright was the primary successor to Peggy Steding, who was the first dominant women's racquetball player.

The other three players, all former #1 players, are still active, although Paraiso and Van Hees less so.

But which of these 5 has won the most tournaments in her impressive career?

We'll tell you later this week. For now, we'll say that it's close, and they've all won more than 10 tournaments.

Follow the bouncing ball....

No comments: