Tuesday, October 2, 2012

2012 US Open - IRT & LPRT Draws

The draws for the 18th US Open have been revealed, and we've got the International Racquetball Tour (IRT) and Ladies Pro Racquetball Tour (LPRT) draws for you below. Both have qualifying events prior to the main draw, which starts in the Round of 32.

There are a few people to look for coming out of qualifying. Mitch Williams could claim the Q13 spot, which would put him up against 4th seed Alvaro Beltran, and that could be a great Round of 32 match. It would certainly be a tougher test than Beltran is looking for right off the bat.

Young gun Daniel De La Rosa will likely come out of the Q3 spot, which means he could be the player that ends Ruben Gonzalez's IRT career, as Gonzalez is the 14th seed and has announced that this US Open will be his last IRT tournament.

Canadian #2 Vincent Gagnon or Japanese veteran Hiroshi Shimizu could come out of the Q9 bracket and either could prove to be a tough test for 8th seed Andy Hawthorne.

Finally, we like Carlos Keller Vargas, the current U18 World Champion, to get out of the Q1 slot, which would put him up against Alejandro Landa, and that would be a good match.


Early matches to watch for on the Ladies Pro Racquetball Tour (LPRT) side include 6th seed Kristen Bellows versus former #1 Jackie Paraiso in the Round of 32. Also, 5th seed Adrienne Fisher will likely be up against former top 10 player Veronica Sotomayor in the 32s.

2012 United Healthcare US Open
Minneapolis, Minnesota

(note: numbers indicate current IRT rank; no number means the player is unranked)

Qualifying Round 1

Carlos Keller Vargas v. Bruno Casalvolone
Kenny Gilley v. Bill Harper
214 Sadao Funatani v. Erick Sandoval
214 Kadim Carrasco v. Daeyong Kwon

Qualifying Rounds 2 & 3
(bracket winner moves on to Main Draw of 32)

17 Arthur Schmeiser v. Carlos Keller Vargas or Bruno Casalvolone
125 Luis Reveron v. 128 Bruce Robles

45 Cesar Castillo v. Eduardo Avila
39 Mauricio Zelada v. Kenny Green Jr.

28 Hiroshi Shimizu v. Mitchell Hardin
77 Coby Iwaasa v. 214 Vincent Gagnon

78 Joshua Hungerford v. 184 Ben Ryder
26 Jansen Allen v. Erik Mendoza

22 Alejandro Herrera v. 214 Alexi David Cocco Hayes
93 Jake Bredenbeck v. 140 Danny Lavely

55 Armando Bermudez v. Jacob Valera
32 Alex Ackermann v. Justin Ivers

34 Jose Serrano v. Aaron Granberg
49 Francisco Troncoso v. Mitch Williams

103 Favian Elmore v. 140 Roland Keller
20 Jose Diaz v. Kenny Gilley or Bill Harper

19 Daniel De La Rosa v. 214 Sadao Funatani or Erick Sandoval
112 Andrés Gómez v. 140 John Goth

48 David Horn v. Doug Eagle
35 Marco Rojas v. Chase Robison

29 Nick Montalbano v. Andrew Clarke
214 Francisco Gomez Reyes v. 251 Andree Parrilla

91 Ivan Villegas v. 140 Mike Ray
24 Felipe Camacho v. Roberto Santander

25 James Slamko v. Kolten Wenckus
175 Jeff Stark v. 84 Juan Torres

70 Andres Acuña v. 214 Stacey Young
29 Gilberto Mejia v. Anthony Schonberger

38 Sebastian Franco v. Coby Arff
47 Rafael Filippini v. Jonathan Doyle

120 Mike Orr v. 134 Kurtis Cullen
18 Polo Gutierrez v. 214 Kadim Carrasco or Daeyong Kwon

IRT Main Draw of 32 Players

1 Kane Waselenchuk v. Q16
16 Alejandro Landa v. Q1

9 Tony Carson v. Q8
8 Andy Hawthorne v. Q9

5 Ben Croft v. Q12
12 Anthony Herrera v. Q5

13 Brad Schopieray v. Q4
4 Alvaro Beltran v. Q13

3 Jose Rojas v. Q14
14 Ruben Gonzalez v. Q3

11 Javier Moreno v. Q6
6 Chris Crowther v. Q11

7 Shane Vanderson v. Q10
10 Charlie Pratt v. Q7

15 Juan Herrera v. Q2
2 Rocky Carson v. Q15

LPRT Qualifying Draw

Q1 50 Hailey Miller
Q2 52 Claudia Andrade
Q3 57 Jacqueline Paraiso
Q4 58 Young Ock Lee v. Veronica Sotomayor

Q5 Alexandra Herrera v. Malhee Kwon
Q6 Jenny Daza Navia v. Emily Coonse
Q7 Nadia Verilli v. Masiel Rivera
Q8 Maria Jose Vargas v. Naomi Wakimoto

LPRT Main Draw of 32 Players

1 Paola Longoria v. Q8 (Maria Jose Vargas or Naomi Wakimoto)
16 Laura Brandt v. 17 Linda Scales

9 Cristina Amaya v. 46 Maria Paz Munoz
8 Jen Saunders v. Q1 (50 Hailey Miller)

5 Adrienne Fisher v. Q4 (58 Young Ock Lee or Veronica Sotomayor)
12 T. J. Baumbaugh v. 31 Jessica Parrilla

13 Keely Franks v. 30 Carla Munoz
4 Krystal Csuk v. Q5 (Alexandra Herrera or Malhee Kwon)

3 Kerri Wachtel v. Q6 (Jenny Daza Navia or Emily Coonse)
14 Samantha Salas Solis v. 24 Sharon Jackson

11 Da'monique Davis v. 37 Janel Tisinger
6 Kristen Bellows v. Q3 (57 Jacqueline Paraiso)

7 Susana Acosta v. Q2 (52 Claudia Andrade)
10 Cheryl Gudinas v. 38 Lily Berry

15 Grace Hughes v. 22 Sheryl Lotts
2 Rhonda Rajsich v. Q7 (Nadia Verilli or Masiel Rivera)

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: