Monday, February 24, 2014

Weekend Round Up - Jackson, De La Rosa & Garrow win & USA Team named

Sharon Jackson won the Women's Open Division at the 9th Annual Winter Classic in Overland Park, Kansas, as she beat Adrienne Haynes in the final, 15-3, 15-7.

In the semi-finals, Jackson defeated Da'monique Davis, 15-10, 15-9, and Haynes beat Carla Muñoz, 15-8, 6-15, 11-5.

Daniel De La Rosa won the Battle by the Bay - a Tier 5 International Racquetball Tour (IRT) event - in Corpus Cristi, Texas, as he defeated Danny Lavely in the final, 12-10, 13-11, 11-8. In the semi-finals, De La Rosa beat John Rhodes, 11-1, 11-1, 11-2, and Lavely - the 6th seed - defeated Joel Ernst, 11-1, 10-12, 11-2, 11-2.

Finally in Utica, Michigan, William Garrow won the Motor City Rollout - a Tier 5 IRT event - with a 13-11, 11-9, 11-7, win over Scott Young.

US Team Announced

USA Racquetball named its team for the 2014 Pan American Championships in Santa Cruz, Bolivia. Veteran Rhonda Rajsich leads the four player team and each player will play both singles and doubles. Janel Tisinger is the other woman on the team, and the men are Jose Rojas and David Horn. Dave Ellis will coach the team with Cheryl Kirk as the team leader and Brent Huff will be the team trainer.

Rajsich will be wearing USA on her back for the 16th time. In contrast, David Horn is making his first appearance on Team USA. Rojas and Tisinger are making their 4th and 2nd international appearances.

It's been seven years since Tisinger was last on the team. She played doubles at the 2007 Pan American Championships with Rajsich, and they won the event. Rajsich is also the defending Pan American Champion, as she won the title with Sharon Jackson last year in Cali, Colombia.

9th Annual Winter Classic, Overland Park, Kansas

Women's Open Division


Sharon Jackson d. Adrienne Haynes, 15-3, 15-7


Sharon Jackson d. Da'monique Davis, 15-10, 15-9
Adrienne Haynes d. Carla Muñoz, 15-8, 6-15, 11-5

Battle by the Bay, Corpus Cristi, Texas


Daniel De La Rosa d. Danny Lavely, 12-10, 13-11, 11-8


Daniel De La Rosa d. John Rhodes, 11-1, 11-1, 11-2
Danny Lavely d. Joel Ernst, 11-1, 10-12, 11-2, 11-2

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: