Wednesday, January 21, 2015

LPRT 2015 Mercedes-Benz of Cincinnati Pro-Am Preview

The first Ladies Professional Racquetball Tour (LPRT) tournament of 2015 is this weekend in Cincinnati with the 2015 Mercedes-Benz of Cincinnati Pro-Am. There are 21 players in the draw, and the top 10 players will all be in Cincinnati.

For the first time since 2011, three different players have won the last three women's pro tour events. In the last three events, Rhonda Rajsich won in Stockton, Paola Longoria won in Monterrey, and Maria Jose Vargas won in Arlington. In 2011, it was Samantha Salas, Rajsich and Longoria who won in Olympia, WA, Arlington, and California, respectively.

To find a run of four different winners, you have to go back to the start of the 2007-08 season, when Longoria won her first tournament in Fayetteville, N.C. followed by wins by Christie Huczek (née Van Hees) in Toronto, Rajsich at the US Open and Cheryl Gudinas in Arlington.

Could there be a fourth different winner this weekend? Salas hasn't won since Olympia in 2011, and Gudinas's last win was in 2010. Frédérique Lambert and Cristina Amaya have the talent to do it, but have yet to win on tour, so if either did in Cincinnati, it would certainly be a surprise.

Thus, we have to think that LPRT #1 Longoria, #2 Vargas, or #3 Rajsich is going to come out on top in Cincinnati.

Matches will not be live streamed this weekend.

2015 Mercedes-Benz of Cincinnati LPRT Pro-Am
Cincinnati, January 23-25, 2015

Round of 32

1) Paola Longoria - BYE
16) Sharon Jackson v. 17) Lucia Gonzalez

9) Michelle Key - BYE
8) Da'monique Davis - BYE

5) Frédérique Lambert - BYE
12) Adrienne Haynes v. 21) Maria Delli-Santi

13) Jessica Parrilla v. 20) Kerri Wachtel
4) Samantha Salas - BYE

3) Rhonda Rajsich - BYE
14) Alexandra Herrera v. 19) Jennifer Saunders

11) Sheryl Lotts - BYE
6) Cristina Amaya - BYE

7) Cheryl Gudinas - BYE
10) Susana Acosta - BYE

15) Maria Renee Rodriguez v. 18) Kimberly Thomas
2) Maria Jose Vargas - BYE

Doubles - Round of 16

1) Rhonda Rajsich & Maria Jose Vargas - BYE
8) Maria Renee Rodriguez & Jennifer Saunders v. 9) Cheryl Gudinas & Laura Fenton Kovanda

5) Alexandra Herrera & Lucia Gonzalez - BYE
4) Susana Acosta & Jessica Parrilla - BYE

3) Michelle Key & Frédérique Lambert - BYE
6) Sheryl Lotts & Kimberly Thomas v. 11) Elaine Albrecht & Kerri Wachtel

7) Cristina Amaya & Da'monique Davis v. 10) Adrienne Haynes & Sharon Jackson
2) Paola Longoria & Samantha Salas - BYE

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: