Thursday, January 21, 2016

38th Annual Lewis IRT Pro-Am Preview

The International Racquetball Tour (IRT) returns to Sioux Falls, South Dakota for the 38th Annual Lewis Pro-Am. It’s the second of back to back IRT events, as they were in Syosset, New York last weekend, where Kane Waselenchuk, the #1 IRT player, won the 2016 New York City Pro-Am on Long Island, New York. Waselenchuk’s in Sioux Falls, which also features IRT Doubles, but Waselenchuk isn’t in the doubles draw, as his doubles partner Ben Croft is out of action. Croft is still recovering from shoulder surgery, and Waselenchuk is choosing to forego doubles rather than play with another partner.

There are several interesting doubles teams in Sioux Falls with Alvaro Beltran and Rocky Carson being the top seeds with Felipe Camacho and Daniel De La Rosa as the 2nd seeds. But also competing are US Open runners up Jake Bredenbeck and Jose Diaz, as well as former US National Doubles Champions Jansen Allen and Tony Carson, brothers Jose and Marco Rojas, and former IRT #1 Cliff Swain and Charlie Pratt.

A few of the potential Thursday’s singles qualifying matches to watch for include Jose Diaz versus Alejandro Herrera, Charlie Pratt against Lee Connell, Sebastian Franco and Tim Landeryou, and Mauricio Zelada against Tony Carson. Those are potential matches, as for some of those matches one of the players needs to win a match to set up that match. But one match which will happen that could be good is Jake Bredenbeck versus James Landeryou.

The IRT Round of 16 will be streamed live Friday from 10 AM via the IRT Network with the quarterfinals Friday afternoon from 4 PM on. The singles semi-finals are scheduled for 3:20 and 4:20 PM Saturday with the final on Sunday at 10:30 AM. The doubles quarterfinals will be 9:30 and 10:20 AM Saturday morning with the semi-finals at noon and 12:50 Saturday, and the final at 11:30 AM Sunday. All times central.

2016 38th Annual Lewis Pro-Am, January 21-24
Sioux Falls, South Dakota

Qualifying Round 1

Lee Connell v. Jonathan Justice
Jeremy Best v. Justus Benson
Tim Landeryou v. Chris Exner

Jake Bredenbeck v. James Landeryou
Tony Carson v. Tanner Prentice
Tanner Gross v. Lee Meinerz

Qualifying Round 2

Q8) Jose Diaz v. Alejandro Herrera
Q1) Charlie Pratt v. Lee Connell or Jonathan Justice

Q4) Mario Mercado v. Jeremy Best or Justus Benson
Q5) Sebastian Franco v. Tim Landeryou or Chris Exner

Q6) Matthew Majxner v. Jake Bredenbeck or James Landeryou
Q3) Mauricio Zelada v. Tony Carson or Tanner Prentice

Q2) Robert Collins v. Tanner Gross or Lee Meinerz
Q7) Scott McClellan v. Troy Warigon

Round of 16 - Friday

1) Kane Waselenchuk v. Q8
8) Marco Rojas v. Q1

5) Felipe Camacho v. Q4
4) Daniel De La Rosa v. Q5

3) Alvaro Beltran v. Q6
6) Jose Rojas v. Q3

7) Jansen Allen v. Q2
2) Rocky Carson v. Q7

IRT Doubles

1) Alvaro Beltran & Rocky Carson - BYE
8) Jeremy Best & Alejandro Herrera v. 9) Lee Connell & James Landeryou

5) Jake Bredenbeck & Jose Diaz - BYE
4) Jansen Allen & Tony Carson - BYE

3) Jose Rojas & Marco Rojas - BYE
6) Charlie Pratt & Cliff Swain - BYE

7) Sebastian Franco & Mario Mercado v. 10) Jordan Barth & Justus Benson
2) Felipe Camacho & Daniel De La Rosa - BYE

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: