Friday, February 27, 2009

IRT - San Diego Open Qualifying Results

The eight qualifiers have been determined for the San Diego Open on the International Racquetball Tour (IRT), and some of the notable players The Racquetball Blog identified earlier have made it through including Josh Tucker, who made the Round of 16 for the second tournament in a row with victories over Allen Hernandez, Lee Connell and Hiroshi Shimizu.

Also through are Mexicans Polo Gutierrez and Gil Meija, although it wasn't easy for either of them. Gutierrez needed five games to beat World Junior Champion Jose Rojas before defeating Juan Herrera to make the main draw. Meija also need a tie-breaker to win his battle with Mike Orr, and then he beat Alejandro Herrera for one of the qualifying spots.

Canadians Mike Green and Tim Landeryou made it to the last qualifying round, but no further, as Andy Hawthorne prevailed over Green in four games and Chris Crowther beat Landeryou in three straight, while their countryman Kris Odegard lost to Javier Moreno in four games.

In the other final qualifying matches, Tony Carson defeated Travis Woodbury in three straight games, while Andres Herrera defeated Anthony Herrera in four games.

Thus, only three of the seeded qualifiers - Crowther, Hawthorne, and Andres Herrera - were successful in securing one of the eight qualifying spots.

San Diego Open
Men's Singles Pro Qualifier

Round 1 & 2

Q1 Tim Landeryou d. Luis Robles, 11-3, 11-2, 11-1
Q1 Rafael Filippini d. Javier Aldiez, 11-0, 11-1, 11-4
Q1 Landeryou d. Filipini, 4-11, 11-5, 11-4, 11-6

Q8 Anthony Herrera v. BYE
Q8 Felipe Munoz d. Dawoud Gharafshad, forfeit
Q8 Herrera d. Munoz, 11-4, 11-6, 11-3

Q5 Josh Tucker d. Allan Hernandez, 11-13, 11-7, 11-0, 11-4
Q5 Lee Connell d. Darrin McNally, 11-4, 11-2, 11-4
Q5 Tucker d. Connell, 11-8, 11-2, 11-7

Q4 Gil Meija d. Ricardo Soto, 11-2, 11-0, 11-4
Q4 Mike Orr d. Roby Partovich, 11-3, 11-3, 11-2
Q4 Meija d. Orr, 11-2, 8-11, 11-4, 6-11, 11-1

Q3 Polo Gutierrez d. Tom Resendez, 11-0, 11-1, 11-0
Q3 Jose Rojas d. Issac Hugo, 11-1, 11-6, 11-2
Q3 Gutierrez d. Rojas, 11-8, 5-11, 3-11, 11-0, 11-3

Q6 Tony Carson d. Jared Torres, 12-10, 11-6, 11-2
Q6 Gil De Los Rios d. Dan De La Rosa, 12-10, 11-1, 11-6, 13-15, 11-7
Q6 Carson d. De Los Rios, 8-11, 11-7, 8-11, 11-5, 11-4

Q7 David Horn d. Jaime Estrella, 11-7, 11-5, 12-10
Q7 Javier Moreno v. BYE
Q7 Moreno d. Horn, 11-5, 11-6, 11-8

Q2 Mike Green d. Fred Forbes, 11-2, 11-0, 11-1
Q2 Michael Burgess d. Tony Ramierez, 11-4, 11-2, 11-0
Q2 Green d. Burgess, 11-6, 11-8, 11-4

Round 3

Q1 Chris Crowther d. Tim Landeryou, 11-8, 11-7, 11-1
Q8 Andres Herrera d. Anthony Herrera, 11-7, 11-3, 3-11, 12-10

Q5 Josh Tucker d. Hiroshi Shimizu, 11-4, 11-4, 11-1
Q4 Gil Meija d. Alejandro Herrera, 11-4, 11-8, 11-4

Q3 Polo Gutierrez d. Juan Herrera, 11-9, 11-5, 11-1
Q6 Tony Carson d. Travis Woodbury, 11-2, 11-5, 11-9

Q7 Javier Moreno d. Kris Odegard, 11-6, 10-12, 11-2, 11-5
Q2 Andy Hawthorne d. Mike Green, 8-11, 11-2, 11-3, 11-5

Main Draw - Round of 16

Rocky Carson v. Andres Herrera
Ben Croft v. Chris Crowther

Mitch Williams v. Gilberto Mejia
Kane Waselenchuk v. Josh Tucker

Alvaro Beltran v. Tony Carson
Jason Mannino v. Polo Gutierrez

Shane Vanderson v. Andy Hawthorne
Jack Huczek v. Javier Moreno

Follow the bouncing ball....

No comments: