Sunday, April 5, 2009

USAR Intercollegiates - New Champions

Jose Rojas (Delta College) and Sheryl Lotts (Baldwin Wallace College) are the new champions at the USA Racquetball Intercollegiate Championships, as last year's champions failed to defend their titles.

Jose Rojas took out Anthony Carson, the defending champion from Colorado State, in the semi-finals of men's #1 on Friday, 15-6, 15-4, and then defeated Allan Crockett (University of Alabama) in the final, 15-9, 13-15, 11-4.

Carson finished third with a win over Anthony Herrera (University of Colorado, Colorado Springs), 15-2, 15-3.

Jonathan Doyle, the fourth seed in men's #2, followed Rojas's path to victory, as he beat both the top two seeds to win the division. Doyle defeated top seed David Laforest (Oregon State University), 15-13, 7-15, 11-6, in the semis, and took out second seed Tyler Otto (Colorado State), 15-10, 15-8.

Ismael Aldana Jr. (Delta College) finished third by defeating Laforest, 15-6, 15-8.


Kara Mazur (University of Alabama) had a chance to defend her title in the women's #1 division, but Lotts was too much for her, easily winning 15-3, 15-3. Third place went to Ashley Willhite (Oregon State University), who defeated Teresa Diaz (Delta College), 15-11, 15-11.

In the women's #2 division, Sharon Jackson (University of Alabama) beat last year's runner up in women's #1 Sarah Hettesheimer (Baldwin Wallace) 15-7, 15-3, with Oregon State player Alyssa Asay taking third place with the narrowest of victories - 15-14, 15-14 - over Eliza Culverwell of Brigham Young University.


Jackson did the double, as she and Mazur teamed up to win the women's doubles #1 division by defeating Hettesheimer and Lotts, 15-8, 12-15, 11-5. But Rojas was unable to do the same in men's doubles #1 as he and Aldana Jr lost to Carson and Jansen Allen 15-12, 15-6.

The competition was played on the campus of Arizona State University in Tempe, Arizona, and had individual and team components. A full team is 6 men and 6 women, so there are 6 singles categories and 3 doubles categories. The #1 seeds on each team compete against each other, as do the #2s, #3s and so on. The individual performances are added together to create the team total.

2009 USA Racquetball Intercollegiate Championships
Results summary

Women's #1

1. Sheryl Lotts, Baldwin Wallace
2. Kara Mazer, University of Alabama
3. Ashley Willhite, Oregon State
4. Teresa Diaz, Delta College

Women's #2
1. Sharon Jackson, University of Alabama
2. Sarah Hettesheimer, Baldwin Wallace
3. Alyssa Asay, Oregon State
4. Eliza Culverwell, Brigham Young University

Women's Doubles #1
1. Sharon Jackson & Kara Mazer, University of Alabama
2. Sarah Hettesheimer & Sheryl Lotts, Baldwin Wallace
3. Alyssa Asay & Ashley Willhite, Oregon State
4. Eliza Culverwell & Charlotte Macfarlane, Brigham Young University

Men's #1
1. Jose Rojas, Delta College
2. Allan Crockett, University of Alabama
3. Anthony Carson, Colorado State
4. Anthony Herrera, University of Colorado, Colorado Springs

Men's #2
1. Jonathan Doyle, University of Alabama
2. Tyler Otto, Colorado State
3. Ismael Aldana Jr., Delta College
4. David Laforest, Oregon State

Men's Doubles #1
1. Tony Carson & Jansen Allen, Colorado State
2. Jose Rojas & Ismael Aldana Jr., Delta College
3. Allan Crockett & Jonathan Doyle, University of Alabama
4. Harry Matt Fuller & Zach Apperson, Baldwin Wallace

Follow the bouncing ball....

No comments: