Wednesday, May 26, 2010

Singles play begins at the 2010 Canadian Racquetball Championships

Pedro Castro the current Canadian Junior Racquetball Champion defeated Eric Desrochers, a former Canadian Junior Champion, 15-13, 15-11, Wednesday on the first day of singles competition at the Canadian National Racquetball Championships in Burnaby, B.C. and that was the biggest upset of the day, as Castro is seeded 12th and Desrochers 5th.

The other top men's seeds all won, including defending champion and #1 seed Kris Odegard who beat Colin Mohr of Regina, 15-5, 15-4. Second seed Vincent Gagnon and third seed Mike Green also both won comfortably with Gagnon defeating James Landeryou, 15-2, 15-3 and Green victorious over Josh Keil, 15-2, 15-1.

There were just two matches on the women's side with current Canadian Junior Champion in 16 & under Brittany Nelson defeating Valérie Fallu, 15-11, 15-9 and Brigitte Richard beating Cher Woodward, 15-7, 15-4.

The Nationals results will be combined with those from the National Team Selection Events held earlier this season to select the players for Team Canada to go to the World Racquetball Championships in South Korea in August.

Canadian National Racquetball Championships
Burnaby, British Columbia


Round of 32

Conrad Cole d. Stephaon Gaucher, 15-3, 15-6
Tommy Murray d. Adrian Webb, 15-2, 15-4
Pedro Castro d. Kevin Caouette, 15-4, 15-4
Mathieu Messier d. Sebastien Boissonneault, 15-3, 15-10
Josh Keil d. Nathaniel Husulak Injury default
James Landeryou d. Jason Reaume, 15-9, 15-2
Colin Mohr d. Kurtis Cullen, 13-15, 15-5, 11-2

Round of 16

Kris Odegard d. Colin Mohr, 15-5, 15-4
Vincent Gagnon d. James Landeryou, 15-2, 15-3
Mike Green d. Josh Keil, 15-2, 15-1
Tim Landeryou d. Mathieu Messier, 15-4, 15-6
Pedro Castro d. Eric Desrochers, 15-13, 15-11
Francis Guillemette d. Tommy Murray, 15-9, 15-5
Corey Osborne d. Conrad Cole, 15-4, 15-13
Lee Connell d. Francois Viens, 15-10, 15-6

Quarter finals

Kris Odegard vs. Lee Connell
Tim Landeryou vs. Pedro Castro

Mike Green vs. Francis Guillemette
Vincent Gagnon vs. Corey Osborne


Round of 16

Brigitte Richard d. Cher Woodward, 15-7, 15-4
Brittany Nelson d. Valérie Fallu, 15-11, 15-9

Quarter finals

Jen Saunders vs Brittany Nelson
Christine Richardson vs Frédérique Lambert

Brandi Jacobson Prentice vs. Brigitte Richard
Josee Grand'Maitre vs Linda Ellerington

Follow the bouncing ball....

1 comment:

paulk said...

Wish I was there the whole week to see the singles matches, oh well i'll see it all next year here in Nova Scotia, Congrats to all the athletes. Jen Saunders and Mike Green 2010 National Champions