Friday, February 25, 2011

IRT - San Diego Open Preliminary Results

Daniel De La Rosa was the biggest upset winner from Thursday's qualifying rounds at the San Diego Open on the International Racquetball Tour (IRT). De La Rosa knocked off Charlie Pratt, the 11th ranked IRT player. We'd love to tell you the scores, but most of the scores from qualifying are unavailable at source.

The other players of note - Javier Moreno, Polo Gutierrez, and Hiroshi Shimizu - all won on Thursday and are now in the Round of 16. Gutierrez will likely give Chris Crowther all he can handle when they meet Friday afternoon.

De La Rosa will play Jose Rojas in the 16s, while Shimizu has the unenviable task of trying to defeat IRT #1 Kane Waselenchuk.

You can follow the action live at the IRT Network beginning Friday at 11:30 AM PST, as that's when the first Round of 16 matches start. First up will be 2nd seed Rocky Carson versus Tony Carson and 7th seed Andy Hawthorne versus Juan Herrera.

2011 San Diego Open - San Diego, California
Main Draw - Round of 16

Kane Waselenchuk v. Hiroshi Shimizu
Jose Rojas v. Daniel De La Rosa

Chris Crowther v. Polo Gutierrez
Jack Huczek v. Alejandro Landa

Ben Croft v. Javier Moreno
Shane Vanderson v. Anthony Herrera

Andy Hawthorne v. Juan Herrera
Rocky Carson v. Tony Carson

Round 3

Q8: Hiroshi Shimizu d. Andres Herrera
Q1: Daniel De La Rosa d. Charlie Pratt

Q4: Polo Gutierrez d. Alejandro Herrera
Q5: Alejandro Landa d. Sebastian Franco

Q6: Javier Moreno d. Felipe Munoz
Q3: Anthony Herrera d. James Slamko

Q2: Juan Herrera d. Jose Diaz
Q7: Tony Carson d. Felipe Camacho

Round 2

Andres Herrera d. Hank Minardo
Hiroshi Shimizu d. Jeremy McGlothin

Charlie Pratt - BYE
Daniel De La Rosa d. Emmett Coe

Alejandro Herrera - BYE
Polo Gutierrez d. David Horn

Alejandro Landa d. Tim Prigo
Sebastian Franco d. Brian Pineda

Javier Moreno d. Jose Serrano
Felipe Munoz d. Johnnie Molinari

Anthony Herrera - BYE
James Slamko d. Mike Orr

Juan Herrera - BYE
Jose Diaz d. Ryan Meyer

Felipe Camacho d. Blake Martin
Tony Carson - BYE

Round 1

Daniel De La Rosa d. Jason Conway, 20-18, 11-7, 11-7
Emmett Coe d. Carlos Oviedo, fft

Polo Gutierrez d. Ron Biggs, 11-0, 11-1, 11-1

Mike Orr d. Sam Brust, 11-3, 11-4, 11-1
James Slamko d. Fabian Mendieta, 11-5, 11-7, 11-7

Jose Diaz d. Allen Hernandez, fft
Ryan Meyer d. Darrell Baricuarto, 11-1, 11-5, 11-1

Blake Martin d. Arthur Schmeiser

Follow the bouncing ball....

No comments: