Tuesday, August 5, 2014

2014 PASO Sports Festival - Singles Elimination Draws

The elimination draws for the Pan American Sport Organization (PASO) Sports Festival racquetball in Guadalajara, Mexico are out, and we've got them for you below.

In Men's Singles, there's a set up for an all Mexico final between Alvaro Beltran - the #1 seed - and Daniel De La Rosa - #3 seed. But there are some interesting potential match-ups along the way, including Conrado Moscoso of Bolivia - the silver medalist from the World Championships in June - playing Fernando Rios of Ecuador in the 16s.

Also, American Jake Bredenbeck has a good chance to reach the podium in his first international tournament, but he'll probably have to go through
Felipe Camacho of Costa Rica and one of the Colombians: Sebastian Franco and Alejandro Herrera, who will likely playoff in the 16s.

On the bottom of the draw, De La Rosa will probably need to defeat Bolivia's Carlos Keller in the quarter finals, and American David Horn could reach the podium but a Canadian will likely be in his way, as Coby Iwaasa and Samuel Murray will probably be face-off in the 16s.

In Women's Singles, top seed Sofia Rascon of Mexico will probably need to defeat Colombian Cristina Amaya in the quarterfinals to reach the podium. But to get to the final, either of them will likely need to defeat María José Vargas of Argentina.

On the bottom of the draw, one quarterfinal will likely be Rhonda Rajsich of the USA and Veronica Sotomayor of Ecuador, but the other is less certain. Mexican Lucia Gonzalez is the 3rd seed and will probably play American Da'monique Davis in the 16s while the other Round of 16 match will be probably be between Canadian Frédérique Lambert and Bolivian Jenny Daza.

2014 PASO Sports Festival
Guadalajara, Mexico

Women's Singles - Round of 32

Sofia Rascon (Mexico) - BYE
Merynanyelly Delgado Araujo (Dominican Rep.) v. Ana Gabriela Martinez (Guatemala)

Melania Sauma (Costa Rica) v. Lissel Padilla (Honduras)
Cristina Amaya (Colombia) v. Maria Paula Posada (Nicaragua)

Maria Paz Muñoz (Ecuador) v. Paula Padilla (Honduras)
Carolina Gomez (Colombia) v. Christine Richardson (Canada)

Carla Muñoz (Chile) v. Cecilia Cerquetti (Argentina)
María José Vargas (Argentina) - BYE

Lucia Gonzalez (Mexico) - BYE
Da'monique Davis (USA) v. Maria Cespedes (Dominican Rep.)

Frédérique Lambert (Canada) v. Maria Regia Viera Gonzales (Cuba)
Jenny Daza (Bolivia) v. Yurisleidis Allue Araujo (Cuba)

Veronica Sotomayor (Ecuador) v. Claudia Suarez Paulet (Peru)
Howira Rojas (Bolivia) v. Sofia Soley (Costa Rica)

Maria Renee Rodriguez (Guatemala) v. Andrea Garcia (Nicaragua)
Rhonda Rajsich (USA) - BYE

Men's Singles - Round of 32

Alvaro Beltran (Mexico) v. Yasser Aguilar (Panama)
Junior Rodriguez (Dominican Rep.) v. Fernando Kurzbard (Argentina)

Fernando Rios (Ecuador) v. Noslen Jimenez (Cuba)
Conrado Moscoso (Bolivia) v. Christian Wer (Guatemala)

Jake Bredenbeck (USA) v. Mauricio Suarez (Chile)
Felipe Camacho (Costa Rica) v. Michael Barrett (Puerto Rico)

Sebastian Franco (Colombia) v. Joao Velasquez Rodríguez (Peru)
Alejandro Herrera (Colombia) v. Sebastian Barrios (Nicaragua)

Daniel De La Rosa (Mexico) v. Ricardo Delgado (Panama)
Luis Perez (Dominican Rep.) v. Selvin Cruz (Honduras)

Jose Daniel Ugalde (Ecuador) v. Maikel Mollet Suarez (Cuba)
Carlos Keller (Bolivia) v. Luciano Garcia (Nicaragua)

David Horn (USA) v. Francisco Troncoso (Chile)
Andres Acuña (Costa Rica) v. Manolo Sandoval (Guatemala)

Coby Iwaasa (Canada) v. Franco Capandegui (Argentina)
Samuel Murray (Canada) v. Carlos Medrano (Honduras)

Follow the bouncing ball…

No comments: