Friday, October 23, 2015

2015 Krowning Moment IRT Pro Invitational - Preliminary Rounds

The International Racquetball Tour (IRT) is back in action this weekend with the 2nd Annual Krowning Moment Pro Invitational in San Marcos, Texas. Kane Waselenchuk is the defending champion, and the IRT #1 player, coming off a dominating performance at the US Open earlier this month in Minneapolis.

The opening rounds were Thursday, and there were a couple of upsets by the seeding, although perhaps not by the players involved. Edson Martinez, who has represented Mexico in doubles on the international stage, defeated Matthew Majxner, 11-2, 11-6, 10-12, 12-10, to book a spot on in Friday’s Round of 16 versus Jose Rojas.

Also, Andree Parrilla defeated Mario Mercado, 9-11, 11-9, 11-9, 11-9, in a close match between two World Junior Champions. Parrilla won the Boy’s U16 World Junior title two years ago, and Mercado is the current U18 World Junior Champion. The 2016 World Junior Championships happen next month in Santo Domingo, Dominican Republic.

The Round of 16 begins Friday morning with the quarterfinals late Friday afternoon and evening. Both the semi-finals and final will go on Saturday. The semis to start at 11:15 AM and the final to start at 7:30 PM. You can follow the action via the IRT Network.

Second Annual Krowning Moment Pro Invitational, October 22-24, 2015
San Marcos, Texas

First Preliminary Round - Thursday

Justus Benson d. Korosh Shetabi, 11-4, 11-8, 11-1
Juan Esparza d. Erik Mendoza, 11-8, 4-11, 11-4, 11-9
Edson Martinez d. A. J. Fernandez, 11-1, 11-4, 11-2

First Preliminary Round - Thursday

Q8) Javier Mar d. Jody Morris, 11-5, 11-6, 11-9
Q1) Felipe Camacho d. Justus Benson, 11-3, 11-5, 11-3

Q4) Scott McClellan d. Bruce Robles, 9-11, 11-1, 11-0, 12-10
Q5) Jake Bredenbeck d. Francisco Troncoso, 11-3, 11-6, 11-11 [sic]

Q6) Sebastian Franco d. Troy Warigon, 11-6, 11-1, 11-7
Q3) Mauricio Zelada d. Juan Esparza, 11-4, 11-4, 11-4

Q2) Edson Martinez d. Matthew Majxner, 11-2, 11-6, 10-12, 12-10
Q7) Andree Parrilla d. Mario Mercado, 9-11, 11-9, 11-9, 11-9

Round of 16 - Friday

1) Kane Waselenchuk v. Javier Mar
8) Jansen Allen v. Felipe Camacho

5) Marco Rojas v. Scott McClellan
4) Alvaro Beltran v. Jake Bredenbeck

3) Daniel De La Rosa v. Sebastian Franco
6) Robert Collins v. Mauricio Zelada

7) Jose Rojas v. Edson Martinez
2) Rocky Carson v. Andree Parrilla

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: