Monday, April 11, 2011

Key & Knoth are 2011 Intercollegiate Champions

Michelle Key of Arizona State University won the 2011 USA Racquetball Intercollegiate title at her home university in Tempe, Arizona on the weekend by defeating Sharon Jackson (University of Alabama), who beat her in last year's final. Key won in two close games, 15-11, 15-14.

However, Jackson did win the women's double title with Brittany Travers, as they defeated Sheryl Lotts and Tracy Hawthorne of Baldwin Wallace, 15-10, 15-4. It was Jackson's second consecutive doubles title and Lotts and Hawthorne were finalists last year as well, when Jackson and Kara Mazur defeated them.

Shout out to Hailey Miller and Leah Redwine from the University Of Oregon, who were seeded 22nd in women's doubles but finished 3rd as they had a default win against Key and Izayadeth Aguayo in the 3rd place match.

Last year's runner up on the men's side also won this year, as Taylor Knoth (Oregon State University) beat Nick Montalbano (Colorado State Univ, Pueblo), 15-2, 15-10, in the final. In doubles, Knoth finished third with partner Joey Pryor, as they lost to Allan Crockett and Danny Lavely (University of Alabama) in the semi-finals, 15-4, 15-14, and then defeated Jeff Skanchy and Joseph Blank from Brigham Young University in the 3rd place match, 15-5, 15-9.

Felipe Camacho and Jansen Allen (Colorado State, Pueblo) won the doubles title, as they beat Crockett and Lavely in the final, 15-10, 15-13. Allen was a runner-up last year in doubles when he played with Tyler Otto.

2011 USA Racquetball National Intercollegiate Championships
Arizona State University, Tempe, Arizona

Men's Singles #1
- Taylor Knoth (Oregon State) d. Nick Montalbano (Colorado State, Pueblo), 15-2, 15-10
3rd Place - Danny Lavely (Univ. of Alabama) d. John Craig Chisholm (Boston Univ.), 14-15, 15-1, 11-9

Men's Singles #2
- Jansen Allen (Colorado State, Pueblo) d. Allan Crockett (University of Alabama), 15-6, 15-11
3rd place - Joseph Blank (Brigham Young) d. Micah Hoffman (Oregon State), 15-11, 15-4

Women's Singles #1
- Michelle Key (Arizona State) d. Sharon Jackson (Univ. of Alabama), 15-11, 15-14
3rd Place - Sheryl Lotts (Baldwin Wallace) d. Kelly Gremley (Purdue), 15-6, 15-6

Women's Singles #2
Final - Hailey Miller (University of Oregon) d. Megan Mathes (Oregon State), 13-15, 15-8, 11-9.
3rd place - Tracy Hawthorne (Baldwin Wallace) d. Sonja Septon (Utah Valley University), 15-8, 15-11

Men's Doubles #1
Final - Felipe Camacho & Jansen Allen (Colorado State, Pueblo) d. Allan Crockett & Danny Lavely (University of Alabama), 15-10, 15-13
3rd - Joey Pryor & Taylor Knoth (Oregon State) d. Jeff Skanchy & Joseph Blank (Brigham Young), 15-5, 15-9

Women's Doubles #1
Final: Brittany Travers & Sharon Jackson (University of Alabama) d. Sheryl Lotts & Tracy Hawthorne (Baldwin Wallace), 15-10, 15-4
3rd - Hailey Miller & Leah Redwine (University of Oregon) d. Izayadeth Aguayo & Michelle Key (Arizona State), WBF - No Show

Follow the bouncing ball....

No comments: