Friday, July 24, 2015

Racquetball Team Event - 2015 Pan American Games

The 2015 Pan American Games includes Men's and Women's Team events. These events are country versus country in a best of three matches, two singles matches and a doubles match with the team that wins two of the three matches advancing to the next round. The losing team's Pan Am Games is over.

There are three positions for the team event: #1 singles, #2 singles and doubles. Countries can select any of their players to compete in any of the positions for the team event. That is, the players who played doubles in the individual round of the Pan Am Games need not be the doubles team for the team event, and vice versa.

Seeding for the team event is based on how countries did during the individual part of the week. There are 10 women's teams and 11 men's teams.

For updates during the event - between postings on the website - follow us on Twitter: @racquetballblog.

2015 Pan American Games - Toronto, Canada

Women's Team

Round of 16

1) Paola Longoria & Samantha Salas (Mexico) - BYE
8) Mariana Tobon & Mariana Paredes (Venezuela) v. 9) Angela Grisar & Carla Muñoz (Chile)

5) Carola Loma & Adriana Riveros (Bolivia) - BYE
4) Veronica Sotomayor & Maria Paz Muñoz (Ecuador) - BYE

3) Rhonda Rajsich, Michelle Key, Kim Russell-Waselenchuk (USA)
6) Cristina Amaya & Carolina Gomez (Colombia)

7) Frédérique Lambert & Jennifer Saunders (Canada) v. 10) Ana Gabriela Martinez & Maria Rene Rodriguez (Guatemala)
2) Veronique Guillemette & Maria Jose Vargas (Argentina) - BYE

Men's Team

Round of 16

1) Rocky Carson, Jake Bredenbeck, Jansen Allen & Jose Rojas (USA) - BYE
8) Cesar Castillo & Cesar Castro (Venezuela) v. 9) Edwin Galicia & Christian Wer (Guatemala)

5) Luis Perez & Ramon De Leon (Dominican Republic) - BYE
4) Coby Iwaasa, Mike Green, Vincent Gagnon & Tim Landeryou (Canada) - BYE

3) Carlos Keller, Roland Keller & Conrado Moscoso (Bolivia) - BYE
6) Set Cubillos, Sebastian Franco & Alejandro Herrera (Colombia) v. 11) Jose Alvarez & Fernando Rios (Ecuador)

7) Andres Acuña, Felipe Camacho & Teobaldo Fumero (Costa Rica) v. 10) Daniel Maggi & Shai Manzuri (Argentina)
2) Daniel De La Rosa, Alvaro Beltran & Javier Moreno (Mexico) - BYE

Follow the bouncing ball....

No comments: