Thursday, November 2, 2017

2017 IRT Atlanta Open - Preview

This weekend there’s one of the largest fields for an International Racquetball Tour (IRT) event in some time, as there are 34 players competing for the title at the Atlanta Pro-Am in Lilburn, Georgia. Leading the way is Kane Waselenchuk, the #1 IRT player, who won his 13th US Open in October. Rocky Carson, IRT #2, and US Open runner up, will also be in Georgia.

Also in the draw is Alejandro Landa, a US Open semi-finalist, who is in the same bracket as IRT #4 Alvaro Beltran, who was also a US Open semi-finalist this year.

Jake Bredenbeck might be the dark horse this weekend. He needs to come through qualifying, and if he’s successful in making the Round of 16, Bredenbeck will be in the same bracket as Daniel De La Rosa, #3 on the IRT. They met in the final of the 2016 Pan American Championships, when De La Rosa won. But that was (a) in San Luis Potosi - De La Rosa’s hometown, (b) at altitude, so the ball flew farther than normal, and (c) under a one serve rule (the International Racquetball Federation (IRF) has since changed to a 2 serve rule), which hampered the hard serving Bredenbeck. Thus, if they meet in Georgia this weekend, it will be under significantly different circumstances. That doesn’t mean Bredenbeck will win, but it is to say that no one should assume that he’ll defeat De La Rosa. But it’s possible.

Look for the Round of 16 to be streamed live Friday from 1 PM via the IRT Network with the quarterfinals Saturday morning from 8 AM on. The singles semi-finals are Saturday at noon and 1 PM with the final Sunday at 10 AM. All times Eastern.

2017 IRT Atlanta Open Pro-Am - November 2–5, 2017
Lilburn, Georgia

Qualifying Round 1 - Thursday

Francisco Troncoso v. Rodney Conner
Nicolas Riffel v. Tim Landeryou

Destry Everhart v. Maurice Miller
Jeremy Best v. Alejandro Cardona

Troy Warigon v. Jonathan Justice

Adam Manilla v. Dennis Myers
Austin Cunningham v. Roger Subieta

Marquis Miller v. Noe Rivera

Thomas Carter v. Alejandro Cardenas
John Wolfe v. Kamyron Meeks

Qualifying Round 2 - Friday

Q8) Francisco Troncoso or Rodney Conner v. Nicolas Riffel or Tim Landeryou - 4 PM
Q1) Samuel Murray v. Destry Everhart or Maurice Miller - 4 PM

Q4) Andres Acuña v. Jeremy Best or Alejandro Cardona - 1 PM
Q5) Jose Diaz v. Troy Warigon or Jonathan Justice - 1 PM

Q6) Jake Bredenbeck v. Adam Manilla or Dennis Myers - 2 PM
Q3) Scott McClellan v. Austin Cunningham or Roger Subieta - 2 PM

Q2) Felipe Camacho v. Marquis Miller or Noe Rivera - 3 PM
Q7) Thomas Carter or Alejandro Cardenas v. John Wolfe or Kamyron Meeks - 3 PM

Round of 16 - Friday

1) Kane Waselenchuk v. Q8 - 4 PM
8) Mario Mercado v. Q1 - 4 PM

5) Alejandro Landa v. Q4 - 1 PM
4) Alvaro Beltran v. Q5 - 1 PM

3) Daniel De La Rosa v. Q6 - 2 PM
6) Sebastian Franco v. Q3 - 2 PM

7) Jansen Allen v. Q2 - 3 PM
2) Rocky Carson v. Q7 - 3 PM

IRT Doubles - Round 1 - Friday

8) Jeremy Best & David Sable v. 9) Maurice Miller & Troy Warigon - Noon

IRT Doubles - Quarterfinals - Friday

1) Alvaro Beltran & Daniel De La Rosa v. 8) Jeremy Best & David Sable or 9) Maurice Miller & Troy Warigon - 5 PM
4) Sebastian Franco & Mario Mercado v. 5) Felipe Camacho & Alejandro Landa - 5 PM

3) Jansen Allen & Samuel Murray v. 6) Adam Manilla & Nicholas Riffel - 6 PM
2) Jake Bredenbeck & Jose Diaz v. 7) Andres Acuña & Alejandro Cardenas - 6 PM

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: