Friday, November 30, 2018

Tony Carson defeats Parrilla to reach 16s at 2018 IRT Pelham Memorial Tournament of Champions

Tony Carson, former top 10 player on the International Racquetball Tour (IRT), upset 9th seed Andree Parrilla in the last round of qualifying Thursday night, 15-7, 15-12, to book his place in the Round of 16 at the 2018 Pelham Memorial Tournament of Champions in Portland, Oregon on Friday. Carson, who now lives in Oregon, will play Kane Waselenchuk in the 16s.

Only one other upset in the last round of qualifying, as 18th seed Robert Collins won a close match with 15th seed Felipe Camacho, 15-13, 14-15, 11-3. Collins will play 2nd seed Rocky Carson in the Round of 16 Friday.

Charles Pratt successfully took his first steps to defending his Pelham Memorial Tournament of Champions title Thursday, as he blanked Troy Brooks, 15-0, 15-0, and then defeated Mauro Rojas, 15-8, 15-7. Pratt plays 4th seed Sebastian Franco in the 16s Friday.

Alejandro Landa’s first match as the IRT #1 player will be against 16th seed Jake Bredenbeck in the Round of 16, as Bredenbeck beat Thomas Carter, 15-9, 15-13, on Thursday.

Look for the IRT Round of 16 live Friday from 10 AM via the IRT Network, or the IRT YouTube channel, with the quarterfinals Friday afternoon from 5 PM on. Also, the semi-finals will be at 11 AM and noon Saturday with the final Saturday night at 7:00 PM. All times Pacific.

2018 IRT Pelham Memorial Tournament of Champions
November 29-December 1 - Portland, Oregon

Qualifying Round 1 - Thursday

Thomas Carter d. Tim Prigo, 15-9, 12-15, 11-4
Jake Bredenbeck d. Kadim Carrasco, 15-7, 15-5

Andree Parrilla - BYE
Tony Carson d. Dylan Reid, 15-13, 15-10

Tim Landeryou d. Justus Benson, 15-10, 15-3
David Horn - BYE

Charles Pratt d. Troy Brooks, 15-0, 15-0
Mauro Rojas d. Sunji Spencer, 15-2, 15-6

Nicholas Riffel d. Ricardo Diaz, 14-15, 15-0, 11-8
Adam Manilla d. Nick Baida, 15-3, 15-3

Jose Diaz - BYE
Set Cubillos d. Scott McClellan, 11-15, 15-5, 11-8

Nick Montalbano d. John Wolfe, 15-6, 15-3
Jansen Allen - BYE

Felipe Camacho d. Sam Bredenbeck, 15-13, 12-15, 11-5
Robert Collins d. Michael Arterburn, 15-0, 15-0

Qualifying Round 2 - Thursday

Q8) Jake Bredenbeck d. Thomas Carter, 15-9, 15-13
Q1) Tony Carson d. Andree Parrilla, 15-7, 15-12

Q4) David Horn d. Tim Landeryou, 15-0, 15-5
Q5) Charles Pratt d. Mauro Rojas, 15-8, 15-7

Q6) Adam Manilla d. Nicholas Riffel, 15-10, 15-8
Q3) Jose Diaz d. Set Cubillos, 15-12, 15-5

Q2) Jansen Allen d. Nick Montalbano, 15-14, 15-4
Q7) Robert Collins d. Felipe Camacho, 15-13, 14-15, 11-3

Round of 16 - Friday

1) Alejandro Landa v. Jake Bredenbeck - 11 AM
8) Kane Waselenchuk v. Tony Carson - 11 AM

5) Mario Mercado v. David Horn - 11 AM
4) Sebastian Franco v. Charles Pratt - 11 AM

3) Daniel De La Rosa v. Adam Manilla - 10 AM
6) Alvaro Beltran v. Jose Diaz - 10 AM

7) Samuel Murray v. Jansen Allen - 10 AM
2) Rocky Carson v. Robert Collins - 10 AM

Follow the bouncing ball….

1 comment:

Unknown said...

Thanks for your coverage of the event Evan. Always the best place to go to find updates.