Wednesday, January 24, 2024

2024 IRT Lewis Drug Pro/Am - Preview

The International Racquetball Tour’s (IRT’s) 2024 season begins with one of its longest running tournaments: the Lewis Drug Pro/Am in Sioux Falls, South Dakota, which is in its 44th year. The top 5 IRT players are in the field led by IRT #1 Daniel De La Rosa, as well as #2 Jake Bredenbeck and #3 Conrrado Moscoso.

We’d like to tell you which of the top players past the top 5 are there, but the IRT website is inaccessible at the current time (Wednesday night), so we're not sure what the rankings are past the top 5 (posted on Facebook this week). Why the IRT website is inaccessible is a mystery, and not a good situation.

There are some interesting early round matches to anticipate with nothing bigger than a showdown between current #1 De La Rosa and former #1 Kane Waselenchuk, which could happen in the Round of 16. De La Rosa would need to get by Coby Iwaasa and Waselenchuk by Sam Bredenbeck in the 32s for that to happen.

IRT #2 Jake Bredenbeck will also potentially face a tricky match in the 16s, as he’ll play the winner of 15th seed Erick Trujillo - a former World Junior Champion - and 18th seed Javier Mar, who’s been an IRT finalist.

The two top seeds in doubles could also face tricky first matches. Top seeds Mar and Rodrigo Montoya will play the winner of 8th seeds Robert Collins and Erick Trujillo and 9th seeds Coby Iwaasa and Samuel Murray in the quarterfinals. Mar and Montoya played Iwaasa and Murray twice at the Pan American Games last year in Santiago, Chile, where they split two matches. Mar and Montoya won the Men’s Doubles final, but when they played in the semi-finals of the Men's Team competition, Iwaasa and Murray won. If they play in Sioux Falls it could go either way.

The 2nd seeds De La Rosa and Alejandro Landa could face the righty-lefty team of veteran Alvaro Beltran and Adam Manilla in the quarters, which will be a good match for the spectators, but a tough one for the players. Beltran and Manilla, the 7th seeds, need to get past 10th seeds Diego Gastelum and Cole Sendrey to set up the match with De La Rosa and Landa.

Play begins Thursday with three matches in the Round of 64 at 1 PM. The Round of 32 will be played Thursday from 3 PM on. The Round of 16 and quarterfinals will be Friday with the semi-finals Saturday at 4 and 5 PM and the final Sunday at 11. The doubles matches begin Thursday at 8 PM with the final Sunday at noon. You can see some of the IRT action via the usual IRT media outlets: The IRT YouTube channel or the IRT Facebook page. All times Central.

2024 IRT 44th Lewis Drug Pro/Am
Sioux Falls, South Dakota - January 25-28, 2024

IRT Singles - Round of 64 - Thursday

Q1: Kane Waselenchuk - BYE
Q16: Coby Iwaasa v. Román Haller - 1 PM

Q9: Diego Gastelum - BYE
Q8: John Goth - BYE

Q5: Cody Elkins - BYE
Q12: Alejandro Cardona - BYE

Q13: Set Cubillos - BYE
Q4: Jim Douglas - BYE

Q3: Carlos Ramirez - BYE
Q14: Conrad Cole v. Mauricio Zelada - 1 PM

Q11: Sebastian Chevaile Sanchez - BYE
Q6: Cole Sendrey - BYE

Q7: Alvaro Beltran - BYE
Q10: Lee Connell - BYE

Q15: Tanner Prentice v. Christian Pocsai - 1 PM
Q2: Javier Mar - BYE

IRT Singles - Round of 32 - Thursday

1) Daniel De La Rosa v. Coby Iwaasa or Román Haller - 5 PM
16) Sam Bredenbeck v. 17) Kane Waselenchuk - 4 PM

9) Alan Natera v. 24) John Goth - 3 PM
8) Andrés Acuña v. 25) Diego Gastelum - 3 PM

5) Andree Parrilla v. 28) Alejandro Cardona - 5 PM
12) Robert Collins v. 21) Cody Elkins - 4 PM

13) Jaime Martell v. 20) Jim Douglas - 6 PM
4) Rodrigo Montoya d. 29) Set Cubillos - 5 PM

3) Conrrado Moscoso v. Conrad Cole or Mauricio Zelada - 6 PM
14) Kadim Carrasco v. 19) Carlos Ramirez - 6 PM

11) Thomas Carter v. 22) Cole Sendrey - 4 PM
6) Adam Manilla d. 27) Sebastian Chevaile Sanchez - 3 PM

7) Samuel Murray v. 26) Lee Connell - 5 PM
10) Eduardo Portillo d. 23) Alvaro Beltran - 3 PM

15) Erick Trujillo v. 18) Javier Mar - 4 PM
2) Jake Bredenbeck v. Tanner Prentice or Christian Pocsai - 6 PM

IRT Doubles - Round of 16 - Thursday

1) Javier Mar & Rodrigo Montoya - BYE
8) Robert Collins & Erick Trujillo v. 9) Coby Iwaasa & Samuel Murray - 8 PM

5) Andrés Acuña & Alan Natera - BYE
4) Kadim Carrasco & Conrrado Moscoso - BYE

3) Andree Parrilla & Eduardo Portillo - BYE
6) Jake Bredenbeck & Sam Bredenbeck v. 11) Conrad Cole & Christian Pocsai - 8 PM

7) Alvaro Beltran & Adam Manilla v. 10) Diego Gastelum & Cole Sendrey - 8 PM
2) Daniel De La Rosa & Alejandro Landa - BYE

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: