Thursday, October 9, 2014

IRT Round of 16 - 2014 United Healthcare US Open Racquetball Championships

The first quarterfinal berth International Racquetball Tour (IRT) draw at the 2014 United Healthcare US Open Racquetball Championships in Minneapolis goes to 13th seed Alejandro Landa who upset 4th seed Jose Rojas, 3-11, 11-9, 14-12, 6-11, 11-4, in the Round of 16. Rojas was clearly labouring from late in the third game until the end, and on the last rally of the game, he stayed on the floor after diving in a failed effort to keep the rally going.

Rojas dove several times during the match, and sometimes multiple times in a rally. We think that he injured himself in doing so late in game three.

Much credit to Rojas to win game four to force a tie-breaker, despite being injured. But in game five Landa led all the way, and Rojas only made it close in the middle of the game because Landa was missing low percentage shots. When Landa went to simpler passes from side to side, it was too much for an injured Rojas to keep up with.

In the match, Rojas used mostly drive serves on first serve with some lobs on second serve. Landa hit mostly high, straight lobs to the right side - Rojas's forehand.

Landa's in his second quarterfinal of the season, and first quarterfinal at the US Open. He'll face 5th seed Daniel De La Rosa in the quarters Friday, as De La Rosa beat 12th seed Jose Diaz, 11-6, 11-7, 12-10, in the 16s Thursday.

Like Landa, Chris Crowther needed five games to defeat his opponent, Charlie Pratt, winning 11-8, 9-11, 6-11, 12-10, 11-9. Sixth seed Crowther will play 3rd seed Alvaro Beltran in the quarters, as Beltran defeated David Horn in the 16s, 11-6, 11-7, 12-10.

The IRT's Round of 16 will conclude Thursday with the quarterfinals being played Friday.

Play will streamed live via the IRT Network.

2014 United Healthcare US Open
IRT Singles Draw
Minneapolis, Minnesota - October 8-12, 2014

Round of 16

1 Kane Waselenchuk v. 16 Cliff Swain
8 Tony Carson v. 9 Jansen Allen

5 Daniel De La Rosa d. 12 Jose Diaz, 11-6, 11-7, 12-10
13 Alejandro Landa d. 4 Jose Rojas, 3-11, 11-9, 14-12, 6-11, 11-4

3 Alvaro Beltran d. David Horn, 11-9, 11-3, 12-10
6 Chris Crowther d. 11 Charlie Pratt, 11-8, 9-11, 6-11, 12-10, 11-9

7 Ben Croft d. 10 Marco Rojas, 11-5, 11-3, 11-8
2 Rocky Carson d. Danny Lavely, 11-2, 11-1, 11-7


1 Kane Waselenchuk or 16 Cliff Swain v. 8 Tony Carson or 9 Jansen Allen
5 Daniel De La Rosa v. 13 Alejandro Landa

3 Alvaro Beltran v. 6 Chris Crowther or 11 Charlie Pratt
2 Rocky Carson v. 7 Ben Croft

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: