Friday, May 25, 2018

Top seeds face off in singles finals at 2018 Canadian National Championships

Samuel Murray and Coby Iwaasa in Men’s Singles and Jennifer Saunders and Christine Richardson in Women’s Singles will face off in their respective finals on Saturday at the 2018 Canadian National Racquetball Championships in Winnipeg, Manitoba.

In the semi-finals, Murray, the top seed in Men’s Singles and the 8th ranked player on the International Racquetball Tour (IRT) defeated Pedro Castro, 15-0, 15-2, while 2nd seed Iwaasa beat 3rd seed Tim Landeryou, 15-6, 15-13. Women's #1 seed Saunders defeated 5th seed Michèle Morissette, 15-6, 15-3, while 2nd seed Richardson beat 6th seed Erin Geeraert, 15-5, 15-5.

On Saturday, Murray and Richardson will be trying to win their first Canadian Championships in singles, while Iwaasa will try to capture his 2nd Men’s Singles title and Saunders will be trying to get her 10th.

The National Championships is also the third event that is used to select Canada’s National Team that will compete at the 2018 International Racquetball Federation (IRF) World Championships in August in Cali, Colombia. The doubles results will be combined with the singles results from this week, as well as the results from the two National Team Selection Events that happened earlier this season, to select the players for Cali.

2018 Racquetball Canada National Championships
May 20-26, Winnipeg, Manitoba

Men's Open Singles


1) Samuel Murray v. 2) Coby Iwaasa


1) Samuel Murray d. 4) Pedro Castro, 15-0, 15-2
2) Coby Iwaasa d. 3) Tim Landeryou, 15-6, 15-13


1) Samuel Murray d. 8) Kurtis Cullen, 15-3, 15-11
4) Pedro Castro d. 5) James Landeryou, 15-13, 15-13

3) Tim Landeryou d. 6) Nicolas Bousquet, 15-11, 6-15, 11-7
2) Coby Iwaasa d. 7) Lee Connell, 15-5, 15-5

Women's Open Singles


1) Jennifer Saunders v. 2) Christine Richardson


1) Jennifer Saunders d. 5) Michèle Morissette, 15-6, 15-3
2) Christine Richardson d. 6) Erin Geeraert, 15-5, 15-5


1) Jennifer Saunders d. 9) Cassie Prentice, 15-0, 15-3
5) Michèle Morissette d. 4) Danielle Drury, 15-7, 15-6

6) Erin Geeraert d. 3) Alexis Iwaasa, 15-11, 2-15, 11-9
2) Christine Richardson d. 7) Murielle Boivin, 15-6, 15-11

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: