Sunday, May 20, 2012

Canadian National Racquetball Championships begin Monday

The 2012 Canadian National Racquetball Championships begin Monday in Brossard, Quebec with the doubles competitions, and last year's men's champions - Mike Green and Kris Odegard - and women's champions - Jennifer Saunders and Josée Grand'Maître - are ready to defend their titles. Green and Odegard will be trying to win for the third consecutive time, while Saunders and Grand'Maître are gunning for their 8th title together. If Green wins, it will be his 8th doubles title also.

Standing the way of Saunders and Grand'Maître are 2nd seeds and 2010 champions Brandi Jacobson Prentice and Frédérique Lambert, as well as 3rd seeds Brigitte Richard and Christine Richardson.

Green and Odegard could also face a former championship team, as 3rd seeds  Vincent Gagnon and François Viens won the title in 2008 & 2009, just prior to Green and Odegard's two victories. The 2nd seeded team of Corey Osborne and Francis Guillemette also has a past champion on it, as Osborne won the title in 2003 with Viens.

The 2012 Canadian National Racquetball Championships continue through the week in Brossard. The doubles finals will be Tuesday evening with the singles competition beginning on Wednesday and concluding on Saturday.

2012  Canadian National Racquetball Championships
Brossard, Quebec 

Men's Open Doubles  

Round of 16 

Mike Green (Burlington, Ont.) & Kris Odegard (Saskatoon) BYE
Joshua Keil (Antigonish, N.S.) & Lee Connell (Saskatoon) v. Coby Iwaasa (Lethbridge, Alta.) & Kurtis Cullen (Brandon, Man.)

Eric Desrochers  (Ancaster, Ont.) & Pedro Castro (Brossard, Que.) v. Tanner Mattson (North Vancouver, B.C.) & Anthony Schonberger (New Westminster, B.C.)
James Landeryou (Saskatoon) &  Tim Landeryou (Saskatoon) v. Nicolas Bousquet (Montreal) & Mathieu Grand'Maître (Longueuil, Que.)

Vincent Gagnon (Montreal) & Francois Viens (Delson, Que.) v. Greg Holland (Thorold, Ont.) & Steve Scagnetti (Kitchener, Ont.)
Barret Husulak (Saskatoon) & Nathaniel Husulak (Saskatoon) v. Hugo Laprise (Sherbrooke, Que) & Sébastian Juteau (Boucherville, Que.)

Ashton Duda (Regina) & Conrad Cole (Hamilton) v. Alain Lavigne (Joliette, Que.) & Patrick Jauvin (Lachenaie, Que.)
Corey Osborne (Penetanguishene, Ont.) & Francis Guillemette (Mercier, Que.)    v. Jean-Philippe Morin (Montreal) & Samuel Murray (Baie Comeau, Que.)

Women's   Open Doubles 

Quarter finals 

Jennifer Saunders (Winnipeg) & Josée Grand'Maître (Longueuil, Que) BYE
Valerie Fallu (Brossard, Que.) & Nadia Verilli (Brossard, Que.) v. Danielle Drury (Saskatoon) & Michèle Morissette (Baie Comeau, Que.)

Brigitte Richard (Saint Basile Le Grand, Que.) & Christine Richardson (Regina)  v. Zoe Hanson (Regina) & Brittany Nelson (Windsor)
Brandi Jacobson Prentice (Montreal) Frederique Lambert (Montreal) v. Julie Dechene (Ottawa) & Murielle Boivin (Québec, Que)

Follow the bouncing ball…. 

No comments: