Wednesday, May 23, 2012

IRT Results for Qualifying at Fullerton Nationals

Only one match in the International Racquetball Tour (IRT) division of the Ektelon Nationals going on in Fullerton, California went to a tie-breaker so far, but it was a big upset as Josh Tucker defeated  the third seed in qualifying Jose Diaz, 7-11, 11-3, 14-12, 8-11, 11-5.

The win puts Tucker in the Round of 32 against Ruben Gonzalez on Thursday.

Tucker, while the lower seed, is an IRT veteran, who doesn't play often on the tour these days, so it's not a big an upset as it looks on paper.

Cliff Swain, another veteran and former #1 IRT player, as made it through qualifying with two wins - against Daniel Neri, 11-1, 11-3, 11-1, first and then Mike Orr, 11-5, 11-4, 11-1 - and will face Mexican Alvaro Beltran in the Round of 32.

Another couple of interesting matches in the Round of 32 should be Alejandro Landa versus Daniel De La Rosa and Jansen Allen against Anthony Herrera.

IRT Ektelon Nationals - Fullerton, California

Qualifying Round

Connor Laffey d.  Derek Izzi, 11-9, 11-5, 11-9
Mauricio Zelada d.  Erik Nemnich, 11-6, 11-4, 11-3

Andrew Gale d.  Andree Parrilla
Ryan Meyer d.  Pablo Rivas, fft

Tim Prigo d.   Coby Arff, 11-3, 11-9, 11-3
Amir Shahin d.   Joe Workman, 11-7, 11-8, 11-6

Francisco Troncoso d.   Sunji Spencer
Marco Rojas d.  Majeed Shahin, 11-3, 11-4, 11-4

Jose Serrano d.   Kolten Wenckus, 11-6, 11-6, 11-8
Brian Pineda d.   Erick Sandoval, fft

Cesar Castillo d.   Eddie Sada, 11-6, 11-2, 11-7
Trevor Deason d.   Hank Minardo, 11-4, 11-9, 11-7
Josh Tucker d. Kevin Kringle, 11-4, 11-4, 11-0
Matthew Majxner d.  Eduardo Avila, 11-3, 11-8, 11-3

Luis Reveron d.  Armando Bermudez, 11-5, 11-3, 11-9
Cliff Swain d.  Daniel Neri, 11-1, 11-3, 11-1

Mike Orr d. Toby Devore, fft
Ernesto Ruiz d. Mitch Posner, 11-4, 11-3, 11-1
Chris Young d.  Jeremy McGlothin, 11-2, 11-9, 11-8
Sebastian Franco d. Allan Crockett, 11-2, 12-10, 11-9

Ralph Comer d. Luis Felipe Munoz, fft
Tyler Otto d.   Alex Purcell

Thomas Fuhrmann d. Rafael Filippini, 11-6, 11-5, 11-4
James Swift d. Joshua Hungerford, 11-9, 12-10, 11-4

Qualifying Round 2

Q1: Daniel De La Rosa d. Connor Laffey, 11-4, 11-4, 11-5
Q16: Mauricio Zelada d. Andrew Gale, 11-5, 11-1, 11-2

Q9: Ryan Meyer d. Tim Prigo, 11-3, 11-9, 8-11, 11-8
Q8: Hiroshi Shimizu d. Amir Shahin, 11-1, 11-4, 11-13, 11-6

Q5: Jansen Allen d. Sunji Spencer
Q12: Marco Rojas d. Jose Serrano, 13-11, 11-5, 11-7

Q13: Cesar Castillo d. Brian Pineda
Q4: Polo Gutierrez d. Trevor Deason, 11-5, 11-2, 11-0

Q3: Josh Tucker d. Jose Diaz, 7-11, 11-3, 14-12, 8-11, 11-5
Q14: Matthew Majxner d. Luis Reveron

Q11: Cliff Swain d. Mike Orr, 11-5, 11-4, 11-1
Q6: Alejandro Herrera d. Ernesto Ruiz, 11-6, 11-7, 11-5

Q7: Andres Herrera d. Chris Young, 11-1, 11-7, 11-1
Q10: Sebastian Franco d. Ralph Comer, 11-6, 11-3, 11-0

Q15: Thomas Fuhrmann d. Tyler Otto, 11-4, 11-4, 7-11, 11-1
Q2: James Swift d. Arthur Schmeiser, 7-11, 11-4, 11-7, 11-1

Round of 32 

Kane Waselenchuk v.  Mauricio Zelada
Alejandro Landa v. Daniel De La Rosa
Tony Carson v.  Hiroshi Shimizu
Andy Hawthorne v. Ryan Meyer

Chris Crowther v. Marco Rojas
Jansen Allen v. Anthony Herrera
Brad Schopieray v. Polo Gutierrez
Jose Rojas v. Cesar Castillo

Ben Croft v. Matthew Majxner
Ruben Gonzalez v. Josh Tucker
Javier Moreno v. Alejandro Herrera
Alvaro Beltran v. Cliff Swain

Shane Vanderson v. Sebastian Franco
Charles Pratt v. Andres Herrera
Juan Herrera v.  James Swift
Rocky Carson v.  Thomas Fuhrmann

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: