Thursday, March 1, 2018

2018 IRT March Madness - Qualifying rounds

No real surprises in qualifying at the International Racquetball Tour (IRT) March Madness tournament in San Antonio, Texas. Q6) Edwin Galicia did upset Scott McClellan, 15-6, 15-13 to qualify for the Round of 16 on Friday. Galicia will play 4th seed Jansen Allen in the 16s Friday. Also, Mauro Rojas - the 2017 Boy’s U18 World Junior Champion - upset Juan Salvatierra, 15-14, 15-8. The win gets Rojas a match with #1 seed Daniel De La Rosa in the Round of 16 on Friday.

Alejandro Landa, who is looking to win back to back tournaments, will play Nicholas Riffel in the 16s, as Riffel narrowly defeated Francisco Troncoso, 13-15, 15-9, 11-10. If Landa is the March Madness Champion, he’ll be the first player not named Kane Waselenchuk or Rocky Carson to win back to back events since 2008, when Jack Huczek won back to back.

The IRT Network will have the action from San Antonio starting with the Round of 16 on Friday morning at 10 and 11:05 AM Central with the quarterfinals at 5:35 and 6:40 PM. The semi-finals will be at 10:10 AM and 11:15 AM Saturday with the final at 6:50 PM Saturday.

2018 IRT March Madness, March 1-4, 2018
San Antonio, Texas

Qualifying Round 1 - Thursday afternoon

Mauro Rojas d. David Mendoza, 15-3, 15-9
Bruce Robles d. Christian Longoria, forfeit

Hanzel Martinez d. Tyrone Gilmore, 15-9, 15-6
Francisco Troncoso d. Lorenzo Valdez, 15-9, 15-0

Edwin Galicia d. Glenn Martineau, 15-6, 15-13
Jody Morris d. Erik Mendoza, 15-4, 4-15, 11-1

Brennen Jennings v. Daniel Neri, forfeit
Christian Wer d. Zachary Williams, 15-11, 15-11

Qualifying Round 2 - Thursday night

Q8) Mauro Rojas d. Juan Salvatierra, 15-14, 15-8
Q1) Felipe Camacho d. Bruce Robles, 15-8, 15-11

Q4) Adam Manilla d. Hanzel Martinez, 15-5, 15-12
Q5) Nicholas Riffel d. Francisco Troncoso, 13-15, 15-9, 11-10

Q6) Edwin Galicia d. Scott McClellan, 15-6, 15-13
Q3) Robert Collins d. Jody Morris, 15-11, 15-4

Q2) Jose Diaz d. Brennen Jennings, 15-10, 15-4
Q7) John Wolfe d. Christian Wer, 13-15, 15-7, 11-8

Round of 16 - Friday

1) Daniel De La Rosa v. Mauro Rojas
8) Andree Parrilla v. Felipe Camacho

5) Mario Mercado v. Adam Manilla
4) Alejandro Landa v. Nicholas Riffel

3) Jansen Allen v. Edwin Galicia
6) Samuel Murray v. Robert Collins

7) Sebastian Franco v. Jose Diaz
2) Alvaro Beltran v. John Wolfe

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: