Thursday, February 26, 2015

WRT 2015 Pleasanton Open - Preview

The World Racquetball Tour (WRT) has the second of back to back events this weekend with the Pleasanton Open in Pleasanton, California. Polo Gutierrez is the #1 seed this weekend, coming off his win at the Mt Rainier Pro-Am last weekend in Seattle with last weekend’s runner up - Alejandro Cardona - the 2nd seed. It’s a strong field, similar to what we saw in Seattle.

As per usual, they are playing doubles in Pleasanton, and that field is more wide open, as the top three singles players are not playing doubles. Thus, top seeds Anthony Herrera and David Horn, who are the 5th and 4th seeds, respectively, in singles, should be the favorites to win doubles.

But there are at least two strong teams on the bottom of the draw in 2nd seeds Jaime Martell and Mario Mercado and 3rd seeded Ecuadoran team of Jose Daniel Alvarez and Jose Daniel Ugalde.

The Round of 32 will begin Friday morning with the Round of 16 to follow late Friday afternoon and evening. The quarterfinals and semi-finals on Saturday and the final on Sunday at noon PDT. You should be able to watch the action live on Saturday and Sunday via the WRT website.

2015 WRT Pleasanton Open
Pleasanton, California

Round of 32

1) Polo Gutierrez - BYE
16) Kenny Green Jr. v. 17) Junior Rodriguez

9) Francisco Troncoso v. 24) Jeff Stark
8) Alexi David Cocco Hayes v. 25) John Churchwell

5) Anthony Herrera v. 28) Armando Villa
12) Mario Mercado v. 21) Miguel Rodriguez Jr

13) Felipe Muñoz v. 20) Stephen Wattz
4) David Horn - BYE

3) Jake Bredenbeck - BYE
14) Jose Daniel Alvarez v. 19) Fahd Abidi

11) Jose Daniel Ugalde v. 22) Dima Wert
6) Jaime Martell v. 27) Mauro Rojas

7) Danny Lavely v. 26) Kevin Alejandro Rios Hernandez
10) Daeyong Kwon v. 23) Amir Jabbari

15) Chase Robison v. 18) Kyle Severns
1) Alejandro Cardona - BYE

Doubles Round of 16

1) Anthony Herrera & David Horn - BYE
8) Dima Wert & Stephen Waltz v. Tim Annear & Brian Klee

5) Kenny Green Jr. & Chase Robison v. 12) Claude Hagopian & Armando Villa
4) Mauro Rojas & Francisco Troncoso - BYE

3) Jose Daniel Alvarez & Jose Daniel Ugalde - BYE
6) Felipe Muñoz & Miguel Rodriguez Jr. v. 11) John Churchwell & Jeff Stark

7) Dan Diodati & Ninja Nomura v. Freddy Flores & Nick Irvine
2) Jaime Martell & Mario Mercado - BYE

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: