Wednesday, May 29, 2013

Final IRT Rankings for 2012-13

Kane Waselenchuk finished #1 on the season ending International Racquetball Tour (IRT) rankings for the 8th time, which is the most ever and two ahead of Cliff Swain's six #1 finishes. Waselenchuk did so with nine tournament wins during the 2012-13 IRT season.

Rocky Carson, a three time winner on tour this season, finished #2 for the third consecutive season. Carson's been in the top 10 for 14 seasons, which is third most all time behind Swain (with 20) and Jason Mannino (15).

Alvaro Beltran is #3, which ties his highest season ending ranking. He was 3rd in 2007-08 also.

Jose Rojas finished #4, which was up one position from earlier in the month, but a semi-final finish in the season ending Ektelon Nationals put Rojas ahead of Chris Crowther, who finished #5.

Ben Croft, Tony Carson and Shane Vanderson finished 6th, 7th and 8th, respectively. Vanderson didn't play all of the events, but performed well enough to finish in the top 10 for a tenth consecutive season.

Daniel De La Rosa finished in the top 10 for the first time, as he is #9. That's one position ahead of where he was prior to the Ektelon Nationals.

Mexican veteran southpaw Javier Moreno rounds out the top 10 in 10th, and with three Mexicans - Beltran, De La Rosa, and Moreno - and a Canadian (Waselenchuk) this is the first time four non-Americans (only 6 six Americans) are in the IRT's season ending top 10.

The IRT seems more international than ever.

The 2013-14 IRT season will kick off in September with the Novasors Kansas City Open September 12-15.

IRT Rankings - May 24, 2013

Rank - Player - Country - Points

1 Kane WASELENCHUK (Canada) 4022
2 Rocky CARSON (USA) 3454
3 Alvaro BELTRAN (Mexico) 2470
4 Jose ROJAS (USA) 1972
5 Chris CROWTHER (USA) 1892

6 Ben CROFT (USA) 1846
7 Tony CARSON (USA) 1482
8 Shane VANDERSON (USA) 1276
9 Daniel DE LA ROSA (Mexico) 1123
10 Javier MORENO (Mexico) 1063

11 Alex ACKERMANN (USA) 974
12 Andy HAWTHORNE (USA) 966
13 Marco ROJAS (USA) 930
14 Jose DIAZ (USA) 845
15 Alejandro LANDA (Mexico) 800

16 Anthony HERRERA (USA) 776
17 Jansen ALLEN (USA) 729
18 Brad SCHOPIERAY (USA) 647
19 Nick MONTALBANO (USA) 610
20 David HORN (USA) 533

Follow the bouncing ball....

No comments: