Saturday, April 10, 2010

2010 USAR Intercollegiate Championships - Rojas & Jackson are champions

Jose Rojas of Delta College successfully defended his Intercollegiate title, and went one better than last year, as he also won the doubles crown with David Horn Saturday in Springfield, Missouri at the 2010 USA Racquetball 38th National Intercollegiate Championships on the campus of Missouri State University. Rojas defeated Taylor Knoth (University of Oregon) in the final, 15-9, 15-12, ending the sixth seeded Knoth's dream run through the draw. In doubles, Rojas and Horn beat Jansen Allen and Tyler Otto (Colorado State) in the final, 15-4, 11-15, 11-6.

In third place matches, Joey Lakowske (Oregon State) defeated Allan Crockett (University of Alabama), 21-10, to take 3rd in singles, but Crockett and Jonathan Doyle beat Lakowske and Jansen Allen for 3rd in doubles, 21-14.

On the women's side, Sharon Jackson (University of Alabama) denied Michelle Key (Arizona State University) of a second major upset Saturday by winning their final match, 15-10, 15-8. Key beat top seed Sheryl Lotts (Baldwin Wallace) on Friday.

Lotts rebounded Saturday to win the 3rd place match, defeating Ashley Willhite of Oregon State University, 21-8.

Jackson, like Rojas, is a double champion, as she and Kara Mazur won the women's doubles event with a victory over Lotts and Tracy Hawthorne in the final, 15-6, 15-5.

The 3rd place match went to Haley Strom and Holly Hettesheimer (University of Cincinnati), who had a walkover win against Key and Izayadeth Aguayo (Arizona State University).

In the men's 2nd division, 3rd seed Jansen Allen of Colorado State took the title by defeating 1st seed Jonathan Doyle (University of Alabama), 15-12, 15-6. Second seeded Horn took 3rd with a win over 5th seed Josh Pearl (University of Missouri), 21-9.

Mazur took the women's #2 title with a 15-3, 15-5 win over Megan Mathes of Oregon State. Baldwin Wallace's Tracy Hawthorne took 3rd place with a win over Hailey Miller (University of Oregon), 21-7.

2010 USA Racquetball 38th National Intercollegiate Championships
Missouri State University, Springfield, Missouri

Men's Singles #1
Final - Jose Rojas (Delta College) d. Taylor Knoth (Oregon), 15-9, 15-12
3rd Place - Joey Lakowske (Oregon State) d. Allan Crockett (Alabama), 21-10

Men's Singles #2
Final - Jansen Allen (Colorado State) d. Jonathan Doyle (Alabama), 15-12, 15-6
3rd place - David Horn (Delta College) d. Josh Pearl (Missouri), 21-9

Women's Singles #1
Final - Sharon Jackson (Alabama) d. Michelle Key (Arizona State), 15-10, 15-8
3rd Place - Sheryl Lotts (Baldwin Wallace) d. Ashley Willhite (Oregon State), 15-5, 15-7

Women's Singles #2
Final - Kara Mazur (Alabama) d. Megan Mathes (Oregon State), 15-3, 15-5.
3rd place - Tracy Hawthorne (Baldwin Wallace) d. Hailey Miller (Oregon), 21-7.

Men's Doubles #1
Final - David Horn & Jose Rojas (Delta College) d. Jansen Allen & Tyler Otto (Colorado State), 15-4, 11-15, 11-6
3rd - Allan Crockett & Jonathan Doyle (Alabama) d. David Laforest & Joey Lakowske (Oregon State), 21-14

Women's Doubles #1
Final: Kara Mazur & Sharon Jackson (Alabama) d. Sheryl Lotts & Tracy Hawthorne (Baldwin Wallace), 15-6, 15-5
3rd - Haley Strom & Holly Hettesheimer (Cincinnati) d. Izayadeth Aguayo & Michelle Key (Arizona State), WBF - No Show

Follow the bouncing ball....

No comments: