Tuesday, March 30, 2010

2010 Pan American Championships - Elimination Round Preview

The elimination round of the 23rd Pan American Championship begins Wednesday in San Pedro Sula, Honduras. Everyone in the singles divisions will play and many of the doubles teams also, although only those who have first round matches. The other doubles teams won't play until Thursday.

Mexican Gil De Los Rios is seeded 1st in men's singles with Canadian Kris Odegard 2nd, Polo Gutierrez (Mexico) 3rd and Vincent Gagnon (Canada) 4th. One potential second round match to look forward to is Gagnon against Andres Herrera of Columbia.

On the women's side Paola Longoria of Mexico is top seed with Canadian Jennifer Saunders 2nd seed. Nancy Enriquez of Mexico is 3rd with Brandi Jacobson Prentice 4th. Potential matches to watch for here are Enriquez against Jenny Daza of Bolivia in the quarters, and on the top side Jacobson Prentice versus former top 10 women's pro Claudine Garcia from the Dominican Republic.

In doubles, the exciting matches won't likely be until the semi-finals as the other countries will try to prevent Canada-Mexico showdowns in the finals.

XXIII Pan American Racquetball Championship
San Pedro Sula, Honduras


Gilberto De Los Rios (Mexico) BYE
Christian Wer (Guatamala) vs. Roberto Nasser (Honduras)

Jose Daniel Alvarez (Ecuador) vs. Fernando Sierra - (Guatamala)
Fernando Rios (Ecuador) BYE

Ricardo Monroy (Bolivia) BYE
Raymundo Garcia (Puerto Rico) vs. Francisco Gomez - COL

Andres Herrera (Columbia) vs. Simon Perdomo (Dom. Rep.)
Vincent Gagnon (Canada) BYE

Leopoldo Gutierrez (Mexico) BYE
Luis Perez (Dom. Rep.) vs. Osvaldo Garcia (Puerto Rico)

Cesar Castro (Venezuela) vs. Pablo Kurzbard (Argentina)
Carlos Barrios (Nicaragua) vs. Felipe Camacho (Costa Rica)

Carlos Keller Vargas (Bolivia) BYE
Fernando Mansell (Nicaragua) vs. Ivan Villegas (Costa Rica)

Roberto Santander (Venezuela) vs. Raul Banegas (Honduras)
Kris Odegard (Canada) BYE


First Round

Monica Escobar (Guatemala) vs. Yira Portes (Dom. Rep.)
Ana Fortin (Honduras) vs. Islhey Mariana Paredes (Venezuela)
Vivian Rodriguez (Puerto Rico) vs. Kim Vanegas (Puerto Rico)

Round of 16

Paola Longoria (Mexico) vs. Monica Escobar (Guatemala) or Yira Portes (Dom. Rep.)
Cristina Cordova (Ecuador) vs. Cristina Amaya (Columbia)

Claudine Garcia (Dom. Rep.) vs. Carolina Gomez (Columbia)
Brandi Jacobson Prentice (Canada) vs. Pamela Sierra (Honduras)

Nancy Enriquez (Mexico) vs. Ana Fortin (Honduras) or Islhey Mariana Paredes (Venezuela)
Marie Gomar (Guatemala) vs. Jenny Daza Navia (Bolivia)

Maria Paz Munoz (Ecuador) vs. Marianna Tobon (Venezuela)
Jen Saunders (Canada) vs. Vivian Rodriguez (Puerto Rico) or Kim Vanegas (Puerto Rico)


First Round

Ignacio Sabate & Juan S Cageao (Costa Rica) vs. Eduardo Kafie & Selvin Cruz (Honduras)
Ricardo Monroy & Roland Keller (Bolivia) vs. Cesar Castillo & Luis Reveron (Venezuela)
Fernando Rios & Jose Daniel Alvarez (Ecuador) vs. Curtis Winter & Ward Myers (Puerto Rico)
Luis Perez & Leonel Simo (Dom. Rep.) vs. Christian Wer & Juan Salvatierra (Guatemala)
Mike Green & Tim Landeryou (Canada) vs. Carlos Barrios & Fernando Mansell (Nicaragua)

Quarter Finals

Ruben Estrada & Alejandro Landa (Mexico) vs. Ignacio Sabate & Juan S Cageao (Costa Rica) or Eduardo Kafie & Selvin Cruz (Honduras)
Danny Maggi & Shai Manzuri (Argentina) vs. Ricardo Monroy & Roland Keller (Bolivia) or Cesar Castillo & Luis Reveron (Venezuela)

Andres Herrera & Francisco Gomez (Columbia) vs. Fernando Rios & Jose Daniel Alvarez (Ecuador) or Curtis Winter & Ward Myers (Puerto Rico)
Mike Green & Tim Landeryou (Canada) or Carlos Barrios & Fernando Mansell (Nicaragua) vs. Luis Perez & Leonel Simo (Dom. Rep.) or Christian Wer & Juan Salvatierra (Guatemala)


First Round

Kim Vanegas & Raquel Perez (Puerto Rico) vs. Ana Fortin & Pamela Sierra (Honduras)

Quarter Finals

Samantha Salas Solis & Susana Acosta-Mendoza (Mexico) vs. Kim Vanegas & Raquel Perez (Puerto Rico) or Ana Fortin & Pamela Sierra (Honduras)
Marianna Tobon & Islhey Mariana Paredes (Venezuela) vs. Carolina Gomez & Cristina Amaya (Columbia)

Cristina Cordova & Maria Paz Munoz (Ecuador) vs. Claudine Garcia & Yira Portes (Dom. Rep.)
Frédérique Lambert & Geneviève Brodeur (Canada) vs. Lucy Zachrisson & Marie Gomar (Guatemala)

Follow the bouncing ball....


Anonymous said...
This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.
Uncle Roger said...

I'm puzzled why in the Men's Doubles Open Playoff Draw, the #2 seeded team needs to play in Round 1 while the #3 & #4 seeded teams get a bye into Round 2?

The Racquetball Blog said...

Tournament Director Gary Mazaroff stated that the bye would have been given if not for "three options for drawing teams."

No, we're not sure what that means either.


Uncle Roger said...

Thanks for asking, even though the response is as clear as mud. I guess if the #2 seeds are not making an issue of it, it must be OK.