Thursday, March 6, 2014

IRT - 2014 Florida Spring Break Pro-Am Preview

The International Racquetball Tour (IRT) is back in action this weekend with the Florida Spring Break Pro-Am tournament in Tampa, Florida. Thirty eight players are in the draw, including all of the top 10 players.

There will be three rounds of qualifying on Thursday to set up the Round fo 16 on Friday. The most interesting potential qualifying match could be Japanese veteran Hiroshi Shimizu and Florida stalwart Mike Harmon, though they both have to win a match to set up that showdown.

Left-hander Tom Fuhrmann, who was runner up at the US National Doubles Championship with Ben Croft, will likely play Sebastian Franco in the final round of qualifying in what could be another good match up. The winner to move on to the Round of 16 against IRT #2 Rocky Carson.

The IRT Network will carry the action live over the web beginning on Thursday afternoon.

2014 Florida Spring Break Pro-Am
Tampa, Florida

Preliminary Round 1

Gerardo Guevara v. Pablo Sauma
Nolsen Jimenez Garcia v. Jose Ubilla

Preliminary Round 2

Francisco Troncoso v. Andres Aviles
Alejandro Herrera v. Bruno Casalvolve

Joe Workman v. Set Cubillos
Jose Daniel Ugalde v. Juan Carlos Torres

Hiroshi Shimizu v. Gerardo Guevara or Pablo Sauma
Mike Harmon v. Nick Hand

Andree Parrilla v. Andrew Depiro
Robert Collins v. Nolsen Jimenez Garcia or Jose Ubilla

Cesar Castillo v. Scot Gargasz
David Stincer v. Alexander Barch

Tom Fuhrmann v. Destry Everhart
Sebastian Franco v. Wesley Miller

Preliminary Round 3

Q8: Francisco Troncoso or Andres Aviles v. Alejandro Herrera or Bruno Casalvolve
Q1: Marco Rojas v. Joe Workman or Set Cubillos

Q4: Alex Ackermann v. Jose Daniel Ugalde or Juan Carlos Torres
Q5: Hiroshi Shimizu or Gerardo Guevara or Pablo Sauma v. Mike Harmon or Nick Hand

Q6: Andree Parrilla or Andrew Depiro v. Robert Collins or Nolsen Jimenez Garcia or Jose Ubilla
Q3: Charlie Pratt v. Cesar Castillo or Scot Gargasz

Q2: Jansen Allen v. David Stincer or Alexander Barch
Q7: Tom Fuhrmann or Destry Everhart v. Sebastian Franco or Wesley Miller

Main Draw of 16 (with seeding)

1 Kane Waselenchuk v. Q8
8 Chris Crowther v. Q1

5 Tony Carson v. Q4
4 Jose Rojas v. Q5

3 Alvaro Beltran v. Q6
6 Ben Croft v. Q3

7 Daniel De La Rosa v. Q2
2 Rocky Carson v. Q7

Follow the bouncing ball….

No comments: