Friday, March 11, 2011

IRT - Florida Spring Break Round of 16 Results

The usual suspects are lining up at the International Racquetball Tour (IRT) Florida Spring Break Pro-Am tournament, as the higher seeds have won all the Round of 16 matches so far, including top seed Kane Waselenchuk who defeated David Horn 11-1, 11-3, 11-1 to advance to the quarter finals later on Friday.

Jack Huczek defeated Mike Green in four games, 11-9, 11-4, 9-11, 11-7, but there wasn't the intrigue of their last contest back in October, as Huczek seemed to generally in control throughout the match while Green never got into a real groove with his drive serve.

Green drove serve through the match, and Huczek did the same early on but switched to lob serves in game two and stuck with that. There was a glimmer of hope for a fifth game, when Green tied it at 7-7, but Huczek came back strong and was able to end the match.

Alejandro Herrera almost caused an upset, as he won the first two games against Chris Crowther. But Herrera wasn't able to close out the match as Crowther won it in five games, 6-11, 8-11, 11-4, 11-5, 11-5.

It looked like Herrera might pull off the upset, as he had a 5-2 advantage in the fifth game. But he made some unforced errors, and late in the game Crowther hit some drive serves that were just the right length - almost unplayable off the back wall. Crowther perhaps benefited from a broken ball at 8-5, which may have allowed for a little bit more carry to his drive serve.

Earlier, both Rocky Carson and Shane Vanderson won in three straight, handing out some donuts along the way. Carson beat Alex Ackermann, 11-4, 11-7, 11-0, and Vanderson defeated Mike Harmon, 11-0, 11-5, 11-2.

The IRT Network is web-casting matches from Tampa from now through the finals on Sunday.

2011 Florida Spring Break, Tampa, Florida
Round of 16

Kane Waselenchuk d. David Horn, 11-1, 11-3, 11-1
Andy Hawthorne d. Charlie Pratt, 8-11, 11-8, 7-11, 11-8, 11-7

Jose Rojas v. Dan Lavely
Jack Huczek d. Mike Green, 11-9, 11-4, 9-11, 11-7

Ben Croft d. Teobaldo Fumero
Chris Crowther d. Alejandro Herrera, 6-11, 8-11, 11-4, 11-5, 11-5

Shane Vanderson d. Mike Harmon, 11-0, 11-5, 11-2
Rocky Carson d. Alex Ackermann, 11-4, 11-7, 11-0

Quarter finals

Kane Waselenchuk v. Andy Hawthorne
Jack Huczek v. Jose Rojas or Dan Lavely

Ben Croft v. Chris Crowther
Rocky Carson v. Shane Vanderson

Follow the bouncing ball....

No comments: